Dunham Hall of Fame Honors New Inductees

Dunham Hall of Fame Honors New Inductees

April 26, 2018

Multi-sport athletes Lauren Haynes Parks '02and Mitch McIlwain '94 were formally  inducted into the Dunham Athletics Hall of Fame at a dinner held April 19 at the Renaissance Hotel.

As a Dunham Tiger, Mitch McIlwain ’94 was a multi-sport athlete who excelled on the football field and the baseball diamond. An All-District offensive and defensive football player, Mitch was named the Defensive MVP of the undefeated 1993 District Champion football team his senior year. He also helped lead the baseball Tigers to a State Runner-Up finish and was named to All-State and All-District teams in baseball.  

Mitch continued his baseball career at Louisiana Tech University, where he was a multi-year letterman. Today, Mitch continues to exemplify the founding values of The Dunham School, serving as a distinguished educator and coach at the school since 1999. In addition to his teaching duties, Mitch has served as the head baseball coach for the State finalist team and is now chair of the history department, head golf coach, and assistant football coach.

Lauren Haynes Parks ’02 excelled in basketball, track and field, and volleyball at Dunham. As a Lady Tiger basketball player, Lauren was a four-year letterman and two-time MVP, who served as team captain. She was selected for both All-Metro and All-District teams. She is the second all-time basketball scorer at Dunham and still holds the schoolrecord for single game scoring.

An All-State track and field star, Lauren finished third in the 200-meter at the State meet and was named team MVP.  She was captain of the volleyball team and was twice named to the All-District team. In 2002, she received the Dunham Female Athlete of the Year Award, the Our Lady of the Lake Outstanding Athlete Award, and the United States Army Award for Outstanding Female Athlete. After graduating from LSU, Lauren served as an assistant girls basketball coach at Dunham, helping guide the team to the Final Four.

As members of the Dunham Athletics Hall of Fame, Mitch and Lauren join an elite group of Dunham greats, athletes and coaches who not only excelled in their sports, but also honored God in all they accomplished both on and off the field. Current Hall of Fame members include Todd Kinchen ’87, Reggie Griffith ’99, Cary Koch ’05, Chris Barker Chaffin ’92 and Coach Joey Thibodeaux.

We can't wait to welcome you!