Hilary Morris and Aaron Nasers Named Louisiana Coaches of the Year

Hilary Morris and Aaron Nasers Named Louisiana Coaches of the Year

November 3, 2022

The Dunham School is proud to announce that two members of our athletics staff have earned Louisiana Coach of the Year Honors, Hilary Morris as 2021-2022 NFHS Louisiana Boys Swimming Coach of the Year and Aaron Nasers as 2021-2022 NHSACA Louisiana Boys Cross Country Coach of the Year.

Hilary Morris, who also serves as head coach for girls basketball and PE department chair, saw the small but mighty boys swim team break records to claim six individual titles and capture second place overall at the 2021-2022 Division IV State Swim Meet last November. Competing with just eight swimmers, the team had three double state individual champions in Tiago Faleiros ’22, Patrick Murphy ’22, and Reed Jantzi ’22.

"I am thankful I had the opportunity to coach a very talented group of young men. It was truly a blessing helping them reach the heights of their potential,” said Coach Morris, who continued, “Dunham's Class of 2022 male swimmers broke one city record, three state records, and won eight out of the 11 events at the state championship meet. I give all the credit to these young men. Their accomplishments will be tough to match. I would also like to give a special thanks to our assistant coach, Daniel Zielinski." 

Under Coach Aaron Nasers’ tutelage, the boys cross country team won the Class 2A State Championship last fall, a historic victory that ended cross-town rival Episcopal’s longtime winning streak and saw John Walker McDonald ’22 claim his second individual state title. Nasers, who was named the 2021-2022 All-Metro Cross Country Coach of the Year as well, also serves as head coach for track and field.

"I am blown away at this incredible honor,” said Coach Nasers. “I am thankful to The Lord who has blessed me with the opportunity to coach with two amazing men, Coach Zach Capello and Coach Ed Van Haute, and having a team full of such wonderful young men! Our team took hold of the vision, overcame adversity, and worked hard to become state champions. The grit and togetherness they displayed made for a special year that I will always remember."

 Congratulations to Coach Morris and Coach Nasers for their selection as coaches of the year.

We can't wait to welcome you!