Youth Legislature Offers Behind the Scenes Look at Government

Youth Legislature Offers Behind the Scenes Look at Government

March 4, 2020

Governor Jeremiah Blanchard '24 addresses the 2020 Youth Legislature.

Fifty-one middle school students from The Dunham School spent two days at Louisiana's Old State Capitol participating in the 2020 Youth Legislature. Sponsored by the Boys & Girls' Clubs of Greater Baton Rouge, this annual event provides hands-on experience into how government works for 7th and 8th grade students from area schools.

 Dunham students were well represented in the Executive Branch as Jeremiah Blanchard ‘24 was elected Governor and Katie Harris ‘24 was elected Speaker of the House of Representatives. Brayden LeBlanc ‘24 served in the Governor's Cabinet as Secretary of Health and Welfare. Avery Watson ’24 was selected as Secretary of the Senate and Emerson Lazarus ’24 served as Senate Chaplain.  

Outstanding bills selected for the Hall of Fame were presented by Jack Higginbotham ’25 and Jonah McClain ‘25, (“Keeping Roads Safe”) and Wait Harrod ’25 and Jordyn Robvais ’25 (“TOPS Funding Bill”).

Youth Legislature provided a valuable insights in to state government for Dunham students. Those receiving Hall of Fame Honors for their participation include Ashley Lang ’24, Lila Grace Badeaux ’24, Blake Beale ’24, Thomas Aulet ’24, Clay Pecue ’24, Londyn Godley ’24, George Harrod ’25, Melina Jacobsmeyer ’25, Rachel Kennedy ’24, Cole LeBlanc ‘24, Harrison Malik ’25, Madeline Murphy ’25, Reynolds Pontti ’25, and Alex Smith ’25.

2020 Dunham Youth Legislature Participants


We can't wait to welcome you!