Virtual Convocation Honors Fall Sports Athletes

Virtual Convocation Honors Fall Sports Athletes

March 1, 2021

When continuing COVID restrictions made it impossible for to hold the Fall Sports Convocation in person as planned, Athletic Director Neil Weiner decided to pivot. Instead, he hosted a virtual version of the traditional convocation to honor the standout performances by our fall sports athletes. Congratulations to all of our fall sports athletes for their hard work and efforts in the pursuit of excellence for their Tiger teams. The complete list of awards presented follows.

LHSAA Academic All-State Awards

Senior athletes who received Academic All State honors in their respective fall sports include Reagan Courville ’21 (Cross Country); Baron Hingle ’21 (Swimming); Camden Holmes ’21 (Football); Parker King ’21 (Cross Country); Jordy Melara ’21 (Football); Miles Pelton ’21 (Cross Country); and Nicole Perkowski ’21 (Volleyball).

The LHSAA Academic All State Award recognizes the academic excellence of senior student-athletes who have attained a 3.5 grade point average or higher by placing them on the Composite All-Academic Team.

To earn Composite Team honors, a student-athlete’s six-semester GPA must have an un-weighted 4.00. Students can not have a “B”on their transcripts and honors classes are not considered.

All-District, All-Metro, & All-State Recognition

Outstanding performances by athletes in their respective sports are recognized on multiple levels — district, metro area and state. Fall sports athletes whose efforts were recognized beyond the school level include:

Cross Country (Division IV): John Walker McDonald ’22: LHSAA Div IV State Champion (1st place), LHSAA All State, All Metro; Riley Ries ’23: LHSAA Div IV (4th Place),LHSAA All State, All Metro; and Miles Pelton ’21: LHSAA All-State

Football (District 8-2A): All-District 1st Team: Braden Augustus ’23 (Offensive Line); Jonathan Crump ’21 (Offensive Line); Jordan Dupré ’22 (Wide Receiver); Jake Rizzo ’23 (Defensive Line); and Matthew Weiner ’22 (Linebacker).

All-District 2nd Team: Connor Boldt ’21 (Defensive Line); Gerret Davis ’21 (Kicker); Blocker Harvison ’21 (Offensive Line); Jake Ledet ’22 (Running Back); Jordan Melara ’21 (Defensive Back); and Matthew Weiner ’22 (Wide Receiver).

Swimming (Division IV) : Patrick Murphy ’22 LHSAA Div IV 1st Place 200m Medley,  1st Place 100m Breaststroke; All-Metro; Reed Jantzi ’22: LHSAA Div IV 2nd Place 100m Backstroke

Volleyball (Division IV, District 3): Kibi Huggins ’21: All District, All Metro, LCVA Div IV All State; Caylin Pixley ’23: All District, All Metro, LCVA Div IV All State; Nicole Perkowski ’21, All District; Kennedy Stewart ’24, All District; and Jada Hayes ’23, All District Honorable Mention.

Team Awards

At the end of every season, coaches select players within their sports who have best and/or most consistently demonstrated the ideals of sportsmanship, leadership, hard work and attitude in practice and in games.

Cross Country : Coaches Award (Girls), Kennedy Morgan ’22; MVP Award (Girls), Riley Ries ’23; Tiger Tradition Award (Girls), Maddie Benton ’22; Coaches Award (Boys), Miles Pelton ’21; MVP Award (Boys), John Walker McDonald ’22; and Tiger Tradition Award (Boys), Parker King ’21.

Football: Coaches Award, Blocker Harvison ’21; MVP Offense Award, Matthew Weiner ’22; MVP Defense Award, Jordan Melara ’21; and Tiger Tradition Award, Camden Holmes ’21.

Swimming: Coaches Award, Adrian Raymond ’24; MVP Award, Patrick Murphy ’22; and Tiger Tradition Award, Baron Hingle ’21.

Volleyball: Coaches Award, Rhaia Davey ’23; CO-MVP Awards, Kibi Huggins ’21 and Caylin Pixley ’23; and Tiger Tradition Award, Nicole Perkowski ’21.

We can't wait to welcome you!